The Riders

Shawn Evans:

Growing up, I was always very interested in cars (Richard Petty was my idol as a child) and bicycles. I started BMX racing when I was around twelve and raced until I grew into my next interest, cars. Shortly after my sixteenth birthday I became more interested in cars than bikes because they were more fun. In 1989 I became the first Lexus employee in the state of Colorado. Shortly thereafter I started mountain bike racing and that passion lead me to racing in the “Leadville 100, The Race Across the Sky”.  I raced that race 5 times.  Moving into management displaced my bicycling time and I eventually moved to Northern California where I took up professional eating as a bit of a hobby and when I moved back to Colorado in 2009, it showed.  I was fortunate enough, when moving back to Colorado, where our families are, to go back to work for Kuni Lexus, a Kuni automotive store. After being back a short time, Jared Thaut (the other rider) and I challenged one another to lose some weight. We embarked upon road riding the year of 2010 and just this year started racing in some short local races. Not quite “Tour de France” style as I am no Bradly Wiggins.

Jared Thaut:

I am a 37 year old Colorado native that has worked for lexus almost 19 years. That is more than half my life! I started with Kuni Lexus as a Wash Valet when I was 18 and worked my way up through the ranks.  For the last 7 years have held the Service Manager position.

My wife and I just celebrated our 5 year anniversary and between us have 6 children ranging from 21 to 3 years old.

I have been riding bicycles off and on for several years and truly have a passion for the sport. I am a two time Leadville Trail 100 mountain bike race  finisher and over the last few years have transitioned to the road. Currently competing in local Critirium road racing and numerous century rides throughout the year.

I was inspired by my friend and colleague, Shawn Evans, to participate in this ride to help benefit all of our fellow Coloradoans affected by the tragedies in our state as well as raise awareness of the kind of company that Kuni Automotive is and share some of the reasons that I am proud to work for them.

This ride will surly be the biggest challenge in my life and I am looking forward to helping those in need.

4 responses to “The Riders

    • Greg, I sometimes agree with you “You guys are nuts”, I am Shawn’s Mom, and have known Jared for many many years, what they set out to do they usually always get accomplished 99.9 percent of the time. I am extremely proud of both of them, am proud they are a part of Kuni Lexus who supports them in doing this. There family will be at the finish line celebrating with them this amazing thing they are doing.

      • Thanks Greg and Mom, we appreciate your contributions and calling us out to be “nuts”. I don’t think that Jared or I would have ever disagreed with that, especially now!!!

      • Agreed, but, way to go. Be safe. It is a great cause. One of my former salesman was shot in the theater. Fortunately he is going to be ok.

Leave a Reply

